Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Hall of Fame 2011
Share |

On Thursday, January 27, 2011, the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) inducted five legendary journalists into its Hall of Fame, the organization’s highest honor, and presented the Ida B. Wells Award, the annual honor highlighting the achievement of a media executive who has demonstrated a commitment to diversifying the nation's newsrooms, at the Newseum in Washington, DC. The event was hosted by MSNBC’sTamron Hall, host of News Nation.

The star-powered event included guests such as Senior Advisor to President Obama, Valerie Jarrett, MSNBC’s Andrea Mitchell, President of NBC News Steve Capus, members of Congress, and many others.

The event’s theme, Honoring the Past, Building the Future,celebrated achievements of the late Ed Bradley, Merri Dee, JC Hayward, Eugene Robinson, Ray Taliaferro, and Walterene Swanston.

The program also recognized the event’s Honorary Chairman John Seigenthaler, the Newseum’s Vice President for programs Jack Marsh and included introductory announcements of NABJ’s newest Fellowship awards.

Funds raised from the Hall of Fame Gala will be used to provide scholarships, fellowships, and internships for aspiring journalists.

Media Coverage:

Tom Joyner Morning Show: Legendary Journalist, Merri Dee Recaps Her Induction Into NABJ Hall Of Fame

Black Enterprise: 6 Life Lessons from Media Trailblazers

Washington Life Magazine: Media Spotlight: A Hall of Fame Night

CNN iReport: My interviews with Roland Martin & Brian Monroe

2011 Sponsors

For information on Hall of Fame 2012 sponsorship opportunities, please contact JoAnne Lyons Wooten, Development Consultant,, (240) 460-5153

Community Search
Sign In