Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Hall of Fame
Share |

Every year, NABJ pays homage to legendary black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry.

On April 5, 1990, seven distinguished journalists became charter members of the NABJ Hall of Fame. Over the last 17 years, NABJ has inducted 35 journalists into the esteemed Hall of Fame.

Nominations are approved by the NABJ Board of Directors. New inductees are installed annually at the NABJ Hall of Fame Banquet and Inductions. The event is tentatively scheduled to take place in Washington, DC. We'll have more details.


 Earl Caldwell
Reporter and early Civil Rights Activist
(New York)
 Peggy Peterman (posthumous)
St. Petersburg Times (Florida); (posthumous)
 Lynn Norment
Editor, EBONY Magazine
 Larry Whiteside
Reporter, The Boston Globe (Boston), (posthumous)




 Charles E. Cobb, Jr.

Belva Davis
KQED-TV (San Francisco)

Vernon Jarrett
Chicago Tribune (posthumous)

Les Payne
Newsday columnist

Xernona Clayton-Brady Xernona Clayton-Brady
Trumpet Awards founder and broadcast pioneer
Merv Aubespin Merv Aubespin
Past NABJ President, 1983-1985
Artist, reporter and editor
The Courier-Journal
John L. Dotson, Jr. John L. Dotson, Jr.
Former president and publisher
Akron Beacon Journal
Co-founder, Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
Jim Vance Jim Vance


Lerone Bennett Jr.
Lerone Bennett Jr.
Executive Editor Emeritus
Ebony magazine

Al Fitzpatrick
Al Fitzpatrick
Former Executive Editor

William Raspberry
William Raspberry
The Washington Post


Charles "Teenie" Harris

Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Broadcast Journalist & Author

Max Robinson
Max Robinson
Founding NABJ Member
Former ABC News Anchor

Carole Simpson
Carole Simpson
Former ABC Anchor
World News Tonight Sunday


John H. Johnson
Publisher and Chairman
Johnson Publishing Co.

Robert Maynard
Institute for Journalism Education

Chuck Stone
Founding NABJ President


Seven distinguished journalists became charter members of the Hall of Fame on April 5, 1990, at a formal induction ceremony in Washington.

Dorothy Butler Gilliam
Dorothy Butler Gilliam
"magnetic presence" as a reporter, editor and columnist at The Washington Post.

Mal H. Goode
broke color barrier in network broadcast journalism as ABC News reporter in 1962.

Mal Johnson
a founding NABJ member, longtime correspondent for Cox Broadcasting Co.

Gordon Parks
renowned photojournalist at Life magazine, author, filmmaker.

Ted Poston
called "dean of black journalists" during New York Post career (1930's-1960's).

Norma Quarles
Norma Quarles
veteran network anchor and correspondent at NBC News, CNN and PBS.

Carl T. Rowan
renowned columnist once called nation's "most visible black journalist."


Accepting a strong recommendation from the NABJ Hall of Fame Screening Committee, the Board of Directors voted in April 2004 to induct 10 historical journalism figures as a one-time measure. The committee's rationale was that any legitimate Hall of Fame of black journalists must include these legendary figures and that 2004 revival of the Hall of Fame was the appropriate time to include them.

Robert S. Abbott
founded the Chicago Defender, which helped create the Great Migration to the North.

Samuel E. Cornish
co-publisher, Freedoms Journal, the nation's first black newspaper.


Frederick Douglass
a former slave and the nation's most prominent abolitionist and the publisher of the North Star.

W.E.B. DuBois
a NAACP founder and creator and first editor of its magazine, The Crisis.

T. Thomas Fortune
one of the most prominent black journalists in the post-Civil War era.

Ethel Payne
First Lady of the Black Press, D.C. correspondent for Sengstacke Newspapers.

Marcus Garvey
journalist for Africa Times and Orient Review, publisher of Negro World.

John B. Russwurm
co-publisher, Freedoms Journal, the nation's first black newspaper.

John Sengstacke
founder of Michigan Chronicle and publisher of Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.

Ida B. Wells-Barnett
newspaper editor, crusader against segregation and lynching in United States.

Community Search
Sign In