Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Hall of Fame Induction and Luncheon 2016
Share |

The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce its 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Inductees, recipients of the highest recognition given by the organization. The induction ceremony will take place at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, DC on August 5th as part of 2016 NABJ/NAHJ Convention and Career Fair.

NABJ Founders Hall of Fame Inductees

Norma Adams-Wade Joel Dreyfuss Pluria Marshall
Carole Bartel Sam Ford Acel Moore
Edward Blackwell David Gibson Luix Overbea
Paul Brock Sandra Gilliam-Beale Claudia Polley
Reginald Bryant Bob Greenlee Alex Poinsett
Crispin Campbell
Martha Griffin Richard Rambeau
Marilyn Darling
Derwood Hall W. Curtis Riddle
Leon Dash
Bob Hayes Jeannye Thornton
Joe Davidson
Toni Jones Francis Ward
Allison J. Davis
H. Chuku Lee Charlotte Roy
Paul Delaney
Claude Lewis Vince Sanders
William Dilday
Sandra Dawson Long Weaver John C. White
Sandra Dillard
  DeWayne Wickham


NABJ Hall of Fame inductees


Tony Brown: Broadcast journalism legend, producer and host of  “Tony Brown’s Journal,” the longest-running national Black-affairs TV series in history

Monica Kaufman Pearson:  First African American and first woman to anchor a daily evening Atlanta television news broadcast

Dorothy Leavell:  Chicago-based crusading force and voice of the Black Press in America

Austin Long-Scott:  Integrated the Associated Press full-time reporting staff, powerful Washington Post and Los Angeles times social justice writer and journalism educator

Jacqueline Trescott:  Compelling and ground-breaking writer for the Washington Post on the cultural life and achievements of African Americans

John H. White:  Chicago’s Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist and photojournalism educator

NABJ Hall of Fame Posthumous Inductees

Charles Gerald Fraser:  New York Times journalism pioneer and inspirational mentor for generations of reporters

Dori Maynard:  President of the Maynard Institute for Journalism Education and advocate for diversity in American journalism

Gil Noble:  Producer and host of WABC-TV’s iconic program, “Like It Is”

Stuart Scott: ESPN sportscaster who was known for infusing his reports with a blend of pop culture references, slang and exuberant phrases that made him something of a pop culture figure in his own right.

Morrie Turner:  Creator of “Wee Pals”, the first syndicated comic strip with racially and ethnically diverse characters

L. Alex Wilson:  Courageous reporter of the Civil Rights Movement for Sengstacke Newspapers in the 1950s

Community Search
Sign In