Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Standing Committees
According to NABJ's Operating Procedures, the duties of the following nine national standing committees shall be as follows:


Locating new member, reclaiming former members and retaining current members, and creating programs for this purpose. It also shall be responsible for evaluating all membership applications and affiliate chapter applications.

Chair: Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig, shades Magazine - Celebrating All Women of Color

Developing and implementing programs for the annual national convention.

Convention Co-Chair: Eva Coleman, Frisco ISD-TV
Convention Co-Chair: Leisa Richardson, Freelance Journalist 
Program Co-Chair: Maria Reeve, Star Tribune

Program Co-Chair: Bernadette Brown, CNN


Developing and distributing criteria for various national journalism categories in the annual NABJ Salute to Excellence awards contest.

Chairs: Sia Nyorkor, Gainesville Television Network
Denise ClayThe Philadelphia Sunday Sun

Media Monitoring
Monitoring the national media for discrimination and other injustices to people in the African diaspora in their coverage and employment practices. It shall report to the Board of Directors and the membership issues of concern.

Chairs:Eric Deggans, NPR
Linda Wright, Ball State University

Constitution and Operating Procedures
Considering any proposed amendments to the Constitution and Operating Procedures suggested by any full member. The Committee shall make recommendations on such changes to the membership for consideration according to the guidelines established by the Constitution and Operating Procedures.

Chair: Melanie BurneyPhiladelphia Inquirer

Provide financial advice to ensure the Board of Directors successfully meets its financial goals. The committee shall also be available to provide financial advice and counsel to the President, Treasurer and Board of Directors, review and advise the Board on the annual budget, review spending and income quarterly. It shall be comprised of the NABJ Treasurer, two former NABJ treasurers, two independent financial advisors and a top executive from a media company.

Chair: Gregory Lee,

Council of Presidents
Foster effective chapter management, develop strategies for chapters to recruit and retain members, develop strategies to assist chapters in raising funds for scholarships and other award programs. It shall also aggressively recruit members to NABJ and work to reach a consensus and make recommendations on how mutual problems can be addressed and resolved within NABJ.

Chair: Siobhan Riley


Oversee the election process and develop the rules that apply to it. The committee shall set candidate standards, rules, regulations and qualifications for nominations and regulations governing the process and arbitrate any disputes to that procedure. The Board of Directors will have the authority to supersede decisions of the Committee by a two-thirds vote of the Boards members.

Chair: Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig, shades Magazine - Celebrating All Women of Color


Actively develop, implement and execute a communications strategy for NABJ.

Chair: Rahkia NanceWater Environment Federation 


Actively pursuing new business partnerships and fundraising initiatives for NABJ

Chairs: Lynn Norment, Lynn Norment Media
Allison Davis, Coopty Productions, LLC


Media Institute
The Media Institute offers professional development opportunities, technical training, historical documentation and educational programs.

Chair: Ernest Owens, Philadelphia Magazine

Other Committees
Other work may be done on behalf of NABJ and black journalists by other committees and task forces as deemed necessary by the President and Board of Directors. The President shall appoint all committees.

Student Education Enrichment & Development Programs (SEED)
The SEED program provides valuable benefits for student members by placing student interns at media companies nationwide; providing over 12 scholarships annually, and coordinating the NABJ Convention student projects.

Co-Chair: Alexis Mitchell, WBTV News 3
Carol GanttAIB Network
High School Program Chair: Sheryl M Kennedy Haydel, Dillard University 

NABJ Journal
Published online and twice a year in print, the NABJ Journal provides news and information about NABJ activities, its members, chapters and journalism organizations with similar goals. Distributed to NABJ Members and individual subscribers, the journal explores industry-related issue, trends and lifestyles as they affect African-Americans while examining the media's triumphs and deficiencies, spotlighting outstanding achievements of journalists so that others may learn and emulate.

Chair: Michael Days, Inquirer/Philadelphia Media Network

Special Honors
NABJ Special Honors represent the highest awards NABJ can bestow upon a member. NABJ members, affiliate chapters and others nominate those who represent the best among black journalists. Awards include Lifetime Achievement, Legacy Award, Journalist of the Year and Emerging Journalist of the Year.

Chair: Manny Smith, NBC10 Philadelphia

Hall of Fame
Legendary black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to journalism are inducted yearly.

Chair: Manny Smith, NBC10 Philadelphia

Print Advocacy
Upon the direction of the Vice-President Print, this committee completes an annual census of managers in print newsrooms.

Chair: Marlon A. Walker, Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Community Search
Sign In