NABJ, Special Honors, Awards, journalist, ida b. wells, distinction, community service, emerging journalist
Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
2019 NABJ Special Honors Awardees
Share |

2019 Special Honors Awardees

Journalist of the Year

Karen Attiah, The Washington Post


Journalist of Distinction

Mel Showers, WKRG News 5

Lifetime Achievement

Oprah Winfrey, HARPO Productions & The Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN)

Emerging Journalist of the Year

Alexi McCammond, Axios

Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist Award

Pap Saine, The Point

Legacy Award

James Washington, The Dallas Weekly

Community Service Award

Cheryl "Action" Jackson, Minnie's Food Pantry 

Journalism Educator of the Year

Eva Coleman, Frisco ISD-TV

Student Journalist of the Year

Allana J. Barefield, Xavier University of Louisiana

Pat Tobin Media Professional Award

Ron Carter, The Carter Agency

Best Practices


Student Chapter of the Year

Winthrop University Association of Black Journalists

Chapter of the Year

Rochester Association of Black Journalists

San Diego Association of Black Journalists

President's Award

Kelley Carter, ESPN's The Undefeated


Community Search
Sign In