Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
2012 Salute To Excellence
Share |




Special Events


Workshops and Professional Development 

Host Hotel


Career Fair & Expo

Healthy NABJ

Executive Suite
Authors Showcase and Bookstore

NABJ Film Festival

Day of Service

NABJ Elections

Travel Information

Convention Updates

Press Credentials

Things to Do

Vendor Proposals

Job Seekers

2012 Salute to Excellence

The Salute to Excellence (STE) Awards honor the previous year’s best in print,television radio and public relations in 69 categories.

The Salute to Excellence Awards will be presented at the2012 NABJ Convention and Career Fair in New Orleans on Saturday June 23, 2012 during the Salute to Excellence Gala. Nominations are due January 9th 

Previous winners included representatives of:

  • Philadelphia Daily News
  • Houston Press
  • The Associated Press
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • Newsday
  • Detroit Free Press
  • NPR
  • CBS News
  • PBS Newshour
  • ESPN
  • Essence Magazine
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Heart and Soul Magazine
  • Fortune Magazine
  • WNYC Radio - New York City
  • Associated Press Radio
  • CNN
  • TV One
  • Detroit Public Schools

2012 Special Honors

Each year, NABJ bestows its special honors awards on journalism professionals, educators, students and organizations that have gone above and beyond to produce exceptional coverage of the Black community. Past honorees include Soledad O’Brien, Carole Simpson, Michele Norris and Bernie Shaw.

The categories for this award are Journalist of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Pat Tobin Award, Community Service, Legacy Award, Emerging Journalist, Percy Quoboza Foreign Journalist, Student Journalist, Educator of the Year and Best Practices.

The 2012 Special Honors Winners are:

DeWayne Wickham
Lifetime Achievement Award
Read more about the winner

Pierre Thomas
2012 Journalist of the Year
Read more about the winner

Monica Pearson
2012 Legacy Award
Read more about the winner

Janet Rollé
Pat Tobin Media Professional Award
Read more about the winner

Gerrick Kennedy
Emerging Journalist of the Year
Read more about the winner

To purchase tickets to this years STE Awards Click Here

Community Search
Sign In