Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: NABJ News

NABJ Announces 2012 Internship and Scholarship Winners

Wednesday, June 6, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Aprill Turner
Share |

WASHINGTON, DC (June 6, 2012)  – The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce the 2012 class of aspiring journalists participating in this year’s internship and scholarship programs.


"NABJ is committed to helping our student members reach their full potential by providing financial assistance and opportunities to gain professional experience,” said NABJ President Gregory Lee, Jr. "Our programs are among the best in the nation for students of color and we will continue to nurture the next generation of multimedia journalists.”


NABJ’s scholarships and internships are included in the organization’s Student Education Enrichment and Development (SEED) Program, which provides professional and educational opportunities to students pursuing careers in journalism.


This year, four NABJ students will intern at NBC Universal in New York. The 10-week program offers real-world experience and exposure to one of the world's leading media and entertainment companies. The students will work on projects with, Today Show, Squawk Box, and Politics Nation.


NABJ also provides over $100,000 in scholarships to students through partnerships with foundations and media companies, as well as prominent NABJ members. Scholarship partners this year include CNN, News Corporation, Allison E. Fisher Memorial Fund, NABJ Sports Task Force, NABJ Founders DeWayne Wickham and Les Payne, and veteran TV anchor and NABJ member Carole Simpson.


"NABJ’s internship program has a rich history of providing our student members with the opportunity to network with and be mentored by highly-regarded professionals,” said SEED Chairman Demorris Lee. "Our scholarship program continues to be a strong initiative to help defray the ever-rising educational costs.”


Below are the recipients of NABJ’s internships and scholarships:


NBC Universal Summer Interns:


Shaquille Brewster, Howard University

MSNBC, Politics Nation


Arielle Buchmann, Alcorn State University

CNBC, Squawk Box


Stephon Dingle, Columbia University

NBC, Today Show


Jonathan Radford, Middle Tennessee State University


Scholarships Winners:


Allison E. Fisher Scholarship
Monica Herndon, University of Miami

Carole Simpson Scholarship
Deanna Allbrittin, Indiana University, Bloomington


DeWayne Wickham Founder’s High School Scholarship

Taylor Harris, Howard University (Fall 2012)


Larry Whiteside Scholarship
Dakarai Turner, DePaul University


Les Payne Founder’s Scholarship

Matthew Claiborne, Columbia University (Fall 2012)


NABJ Scholarship

Tawanda Kanhema, Truman State University


News Corporation High School Scholarship
Kayla Harrison, University of Missouri, Columbia (Fall 2012)

Kailyn Brown, University of Nevada, LasVegas (Fall 2012)


Visual Task Force Scholarship

Ryan Alphonso, University of Maryland

An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization for journalists of color in the nation, and provides career development as well as educational and other support to its members worldwide.





Community Search
Sign In