Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: NABJ News

NABJ Announces 2012 Student Multimedia Project Participants

Thursday, April 19, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Aprill Turner
Share |
WASHINGTON, DC (April 20, 2012)-The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce its student and professional members who were selected to participate in the NABJ Student Multimedia Project at the 37th Annual Convention and Career Fair in New Orleans, LA. The five-day program will take place June 18-22, 2012.

"The Student Multimedia Project is a remarkable opportunity for our student members to receive hands-on training from some of the best journalists in the business," said NABJ President Gregory Lee Jr. "The program provides students with real-world experience that will further strengthen their journalistic skills."

For one week, students work alongside professional journalists and journalism educators to produce both breaking news and long-form multimedia stories revolving around the convention as well as the city of New Orleans. The students will produce stories for the NABJ Monitor, our convention newspaper, NABJ TV, NABJ Radio and, our daily news website. 

"A digital revolution is changing the way we communicate and produce news stories," said Sarah Hoye, Student Multimedia Project Manager and CNN All Platform Journalist. "The goal of the Student Multimedia Project is to assist this talented group of student journalists with the tools needed to navigate the ever-evolving world of newsgathering."

The Student Multimedia Project is a part of NABJ's Student Education Enrichment and Development (SEED) Program, which provides students with scholarships, internships and training opportunities.

"NABJ's student programming has always been in the forefront of training the next generation of black journalists," said SEED Chairman Demorris Lee. "The Student Multimedia Project is a program that many of our professional members can attest to helping them in their careers."

This year's student participants and mentors are listed below:

Donnalyn Anthony, Miami Dade College
Briana Barner, Bennett College
Shaquille Brewster, Howard University
Johnny Ubri-Cardona, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jasmine Cogdell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Bernita Cooper, Claflin University
Bartees Cox, Jr., University of Oklahoma
Christina Downs, Howard University
Lance Dixon, Senior, Morehouse College
Marissa Evans, Marquette University
Tony Evans, Clark Atlanta University
Faran Foy, Texas Southern University
Regina Graham, University of Southern California
Ashley Griffin, University of California Berkeley
Averi Harper, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kenneth Hawkins, North Carolina A&T State University
Roddrick Howell, North Carolina Central University
Odochi Ibe, Howard University
Beatrice Katcher, Wayne State University
Brooke Kelly, Jackson State University
Brent Lewis, Columbia College Chicago
Kelcie McCrae, North Carolina A&T State University
Sylvia Obell, North Carolina A&T State University
Shanima Parker, Bennett College
Fadia Patterson, Middle Tennessee State University
Shena Penn, Wayne State University
Ameena Rasheed, Texas Southern University
Alexis Sanchez, Northwestern University
Quintavious Shephard, Savannah College of Art & Design
Clayton Smith, Henry Ford Community College
Rahel Solomon, Northwestern University
Matthew Vann, Columbia University
Jewell Washington, Roosevelt University
Corey Walker, Western Illinois University
Tiffany Williams, Michigan State University

Mentor Team Leader
Denise James, Television, Temple University/Denise James Media
Michelle Johnson, Online, Boston University
Delano Massey, Print, Lexington Herald-Leader
Ken McFarlin, Graphic Design, The New York Times
Akili Ramsess, Photography, Orlando Sentinel
Rashida Rawls, Copy Desk, Atlanta Journal- Constitution

Meredith Clark, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Allison Davis, NABJ Founder, Jackie Robinson Foundation
Stan Donaldson, The Plain Dealer
Michael Douglas, Independent Journalist
Jennifer Dronkers, The Poynter Institute
Steven Gray, Independent Journalist
Andale Gross, The Associated Press
Raschanda Hall, Business Wire
Ken-Yon Hardy, Cox Media Group
Marshall Latimore, Gannett Company
Janell Lewis, NBC 7 San Diego
Kimberly Mitchell, Detroit Free Press
Christopher Nelson, Freelance Journalist
Sia Nyorkor, Gainesville Television Network
Rashaun Rucker, Detroit Free Press
Ingrid Sturgis, Howard University
Stacie Williams, Harvard University
Anthony Wilson, WTVD-TV    
An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation, and provides educational, career development and support to black journalists worldwide.

Community Search
Sign In


The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »