Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News Release

NABJ Announces Student Multimedia Project Participants

Thursday, July 8, 2010   (0 Comments)
Posted by: ryan williams
Share |

College Park, MD – July 8, 2010 - The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce that 30 students nationwide will participate in the NABJ Student Multimedia Project. The project is a cross-platform training experience for full-time undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in pursuing journalism as a career.

"The student project represents NABJ at its best; a coalition of today’s leading luminaries imparting wisdom and encouragement to help our most talented students make good on the promises of tomorrow,” said NABJ President Kathy Y. Times.
Students will be guided and mentored by professional journalists from various media outlets during the 2010 National Convention and Career Fair, July 28-August 1, 2010 in San Diego, Calif. The student project is part of NABJ’s Student Education Enrichment and Development (SEED) Program, a program providing students with scholarships, internships and training opportunities.

"With a digital revolution upon us, our industry and up-and-coming student journalists must be prepared to contribute within multi-platform newsrooms,” said Sarah Hoye, SEED co-chairwoman and CNN All Platform Journalist.  "No longer can you only focus solely on one medium. It’s the goal of the Student Media Multimedia Project to introduce this talented group of student journalists to the world of current news gathering.”

The students will be responsible for covering issues revolving around convention happenings as well as the city of San Diego. They will produce a tabloid-style newspaper, The Monitor, a Web site, and a nightly newscast for NABJ Media.

"Student members are an important part of NABJ and we’re proud to help train them before they enter the workforce,”said Hoye. 

This year’s participants and mentors are listed below:


Sophia Adem, Howard University
Stacie Bailey, North Carolina A&T State University
Briana Barner, Bennett College
Taylar Barrington, Florida A&M University
Courtney Bessicks, Morgan State University
Cyntra Brown, Elon University
Eric Burse, University of Southern California
Norman Carter, University of Maryland
Breana Copeland, Moore College of Art and Design
Latrell Crittenden, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Bliss Davis, Bowling Green State University
Brittney Fennell, Hampton University
Tameka Flowers, La Salle University
Chelsea Fuller, West Virginia University
Adele Hampton, University of Maryland
Kenneth Hawkins, North Carolina A&T State University
LaMar Holliday, Eastern Illinois University
Monique Johnson, The University of Western Ontario
John Ketchum, Central Michigan University
Marshall Latimore, Tennessee State University
Wesley Lowery, Ohio University
LaPorsha Lowry, North Carolina A&T State University
Corinne Lyons, Wayne State University
Bryant Maddrick, Temple University
Leontye Mason, Florida A & M University
Dexter Mullins, North Carolina A&T State University
Brittany Noble, Arkansas State University
Brandon Radcliffe, West Virginia University
Natelege Whaley, Howard University
Dallas Wright, Northwestern University

Mentor Team Leaders

Madia Brown, The Washington Post
Lisa Gibson, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Sarah Hoye, CNN
Denise James, 6ABC/WPVI-TV/Disney
Michelle Johnson, Boston University
Demorris Lee, St. Petersburg Times
Ken McFarlin, The New York Times
Akili Ramesess, Orlando Sentinel
Monica Richardson, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution


Heather Charles, The Chicago Tribune
Allison Davis, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Ethan Donaldson, ESPN
Stan Donaldson, The Plain Dealer
Jennifer Drokers, The Poynter Institute
Mesfin Fekadu, Associated Press
Ken-Yon Hardy, Cox Ohio Publishing
Ian Irving, Freelance photographer
Danese, Kenon, The Indianapolis Star
Delano Massey, Lexington Herald-Leader
Yolanda McDavis, Freelance Editor
Greg Morrison, CNN
Christopher Nelson     WJZ-TV
Sia Nyorkor, New Jersey Public Television and Radio
Ken Smith, WRAL-TV
Ingrid Sturgis, Howard University
Jennifer Wiggins, WCAU-TV
Anthony Wilson, WTVD/ABC/Disney

An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation, with more than 4,100 members, and provides educational, career development and support to black journalists worldwide.

Community Search
Sign In