Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: NABJ News

2020 NABJ Hall of Fame and Special Honors Nominations Open

Friday, December 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kanya Stewart
Share |
NABJ's most coveted awards honor the groundbreaking accomplishments of Black journalists and those who support the Black community in the media. Honorees will be celebrated during the #NABJNAHJ20 Convention & Career Fair in Washington, D.C. The nomination deadline has been extended to March 6.
#NABJCongrats again to our 2019 winners:
  • Journalist of the Year -Karen Attiah, The Washington Post
  • Journalist of Distinction -Mel Showers,WKRG-TV
  • Chuck Stone Lifetime Achievement Award - Oprah Winfrey, OWN
  • Michael J. Feeney Emerging Journalist of the Year -Alexi McCammond, Axios
  • Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist Award -Pap Saine, The Point
  • Legacy Award - James Washington,Dallas Weekly
  • Angelo B. HendersonCommunity Service Award -Cheryl "Action" Jackson,Minnie’s Food Pantry
  • Journalism Educator of the Year -Eva Coleman, Frisco ISD-TV
  • Student Journalist of the Year -Allana Barefield, Xavier University
  • Pat Tobin Media Professional Award -Ron Carter,The Carter Agency
  • Ida B. Wells Award - Dr. Sheila Brooks, SRB Communications
  • Best Practices Award - Wendi C. Thomas/MLK50: Justice Through Journalism
  • Student Chapter of the Year - Winthrop University Association of Black Journalists
  • Professional Chapters of the Year (Co-winners) - Rochester Association of Black Journalists and San Diego Association of Black Journalists
  • President's Award - Kelley Carter, ESPN's The Undefeated

Every year, NABJ pays homage to legendary Black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry. The NABJ Board of Directors approves nominations. New inductees will be installed at the NABJ Hall of Fame Luncheon and Induction Ceremony scheduled during the #NABJNAHJ20 Convention & Career Fair in Washington, D.C. The nomination deadline is March 6, 2020.
#NABJCongrats again to our 2019 inductees:
  • Bob Black - Photojournalist
  • Garry D. Howard - Sports Journalist/Editor
  • “The Fly Jock” Tom Joyner - Radio Personality/Philanthropist
  • Wanda Lloyd - Editor/Educator
  • The Washington Post Metro Seven - Former Washington Post Reporters

Community Search
Sign In