Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News Release

NABJ Moves 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Inductions to 2016 Convention

Wednesday, October 7, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Aprill Turner
Share |

Prestigious Event to be Held August 5, 2016 in Washington, DC

WASHINGTON, DC (October 8, 2015)The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) will host its 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony during the organization's 2016 convention in Washington, D.C. Instead of holding the Hall of Fame ceremony on Wednesday, Dec. 16, it will take place as a luncheon on Friday, Aug. 5, 2016, within NABJ's joint convention with the National Association of Hispanic Journalists. The convention and the induction ceremony will be held at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, where 44 founding members met and signed the document that created NABJ in 1975. At that time, the hotel was known as the Sheraton-Park Hotel. 

The next class of NABJ Hall of Fame inductees includes: Tony Brown, Charles Gerald Fraser, Dorothy Leavell, Dori Maynard, Gil Noble, Monica Kaufman Pearson, Austin Long-Scott, Stuart Scott, Jacqueline Trescott, Morrie Turner, John H. White and L. Alex Wilson.

"Incorporating the Hall of Fame ceremony into the convention enables more NABJ members to attend this historic event," NABJ President Sarah Glover said. "NABJ looks forward to honoring this very special Hall of Fame class at the same location where the association was founded."

Induction into the Hall of Fame is the highest honor NABJ gives for professional excellence and advocacy on behalf of black journalists. In 1990, seven distinguished journalists - Dorothy Butler Gilliam, Mal H. Goode, Mal Johnson, Gordon Parks, Ted Poston, Norma Quarles and Carl T. Rowan - became the charter Inductees of the NABJ Hall of Fame. Since then, the honor has been bestowed upon 64 additional journalists, including Ed Bradley, Chuck Stone, Carol Simpson, Les Payne, Robert Maynard, Vernon Jarrett, Lynn Norment, Maureen Bunyan and Bernard Shaw. For a complete listing of previous Inductees, visit the  here.

On Aug. 5, NABJ will pay homage to 12 black journalists whose outstanding careers have inspired and earned the respect of their peers. The organization also will honor its Founders by inducting those not already granted membership into the Hall of Fame.

For more information about this event, please contact the NABJ office at 301-405-0248.
About The National Association of Black Journalists:
An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization for journalists of color in the nation, and provides career development as well as educational and other support to its members worldwide.

Community Search
Sign In


Free Webinar: Peak Metrics: How Media Monitoring Software Can Help You Do Your Job Better

Free Webinar: Rules Review: A Refresher on Parliamentary Procedures & Bylaws

3/13/2020 » 3/15/2020
2020 NABJ Region II Conference

Free Webinar: Longform Magazine Writing 101