Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Member Spotlight

Sports Journalism Institute Will Receive the Missouri Honor for Distinguished Service in Journalism

Friday, June 12, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Aprill Turner
Share |



The Awards Ceremony Will Be on Monday, Oct. 26, on the University of Missouri Campus

Washington, DC (June 12, 2015) – National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) member Leon Carter and fellow Sports Journalism Institute (SJI) Co-founder Sandy Rosenbush will receive the prestigious Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism along with six others during a banquet on Monday, Oct. 26, on the University of Missouri campus.

Medalists are selected by the faculty of the School on the basis of lifetime or superior achievement in journalism. The Missouri School of Journalism has awarded the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism annually since 1930 to outstanding journalists, advertising and public relations practitioners, business people, institutions and media organizations from around the world. Among them are Tom Brokaw, Christiane Amanpour, Sir Winston Churchill, Gloria Steinem, Deborah Howell, David Granger and Gordon Parks.

Carter is an award winning sports editor and vice president and editorial director for ESPN’s new site on sports, race and culture. Carter’s long-standing support of SJI and commitment to promoting diversity earned Carter the prestigious Legacy Award from the National Association of Black Journalists in 2009.

Carter and Rosenbush founded SJI in 1993. The institute is a training and internship program for college students interested in sports journalism careers. The Institute is designed to attract talented students to journalism through opportunities in sports reporting and editing and enhance racial and gender diversity in sports departments nationwide.

During the day the medalists will present master classes on topics related to their areas of expertise to Missouri School of Journalism students and other guests.

The full list of honorees include:

-       CNN Digital, one of the world’s leading digital news brands

-       Barbara Ehrenreich, author and activist

-       Rea Hederman, publisher, The New York Review of Books

-       Gerd Ludwig, photojournalist and documentary photographer

-       Merrill Perlman, copy editor

-       Bill Plante, senior White House correspondent, CBS News

-       Yoani Sánchez, Cuban blogger, journalist and entrepreneur

-       Lincoln Stephens, co-founder, The Marcus Graham Project

-       Sports Journalism Institute, training-internship program

An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization for journalists of color in the nation, and provides career development as well as educational and other support to its members worldwide.

Community Search
Sign In


Free Webinar: Peak Metrics: How Media Monitoring Software Can Help You Do Your Job Better

Free Webinar: Rules Review: A Refresher on Parliamentary Procedures & Bylaws

3/13/2020 » 3/15/2020
2020 NABJ Region II Conference

Free Webinar: Longform Magazine Writing 101