Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: NABJ News

NABJ and the Medill School of Journalism to honor Sheila Solomon with the 2014 Ida B. Wells Award

Wednesday, November 20, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Lisa Waldschmitt
Share |

November 20, 2013)
The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is proud to announce Sheila Solomon will receive the 2014 Ida B. Wells Award. Every year, NABJ and the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University jointly award this prestigious honor to a media executive or manager who has made outstanding efforts to make newsrooms and news coverage more accurately reflect the diversity of their communities.

"I first met Sheila when I became CBS’ Diversity Director in 2005,” said NABJ President Bob Butler. "She was very helpful in helping me figure out what I needed to do to help increase diversity at my company.”

Solomon has dedicated her life to the developing the careers of journalists of color and bringing diversity to the journalism industry. Currently, she serves as a contract recruiter for media content provider Journatic in Chicago. She is best known as the Cross Media Editor and Senior Editor for Recruitment at The Chicago Tribune. As a manager, one of her most noted contributions was educating and recruiting many journalists of color through Tribune's Minority Editorial Training Program (METPRO). She served as a Tribune Company liaison with Historically Black Colleges and Universities, coordinating scholarships, internships and cross-training opportunities for both faculty and students. Previously, Solomon was one of the first journalists of color at the Daily Press in Newport News, Va., where she later served as staff development editor.

For her own career and dedication to promoting journalists of color, Solomon was also inducted in 2012 into the Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications Hall of Fame at Hampton University.

"Sheila Solomon exemplifies the spirit of the Ida B. Wells Award, and her career is a testament to the power of true commitment to diversity in journalism," said NABJ Vice President-Print Errin Haines Whack. "For decades, Sheila was committed to putting talented black journalists not only in the newsrooms where she worked, but across the country. Her legacy is not only those journalists, but the thousands of stories they produced, showing readers across America a richer and more accurate picture of their communities."

"Ida B. Wells’ bodacious reporting on lynching and the sexual exploitation of black women leaves a legacy for which journalists must continue to strive,” said co-curator Ava Thompson Greenwell, an associate professor at Medill. "The award is a tribute to the work of those who have come behind Ida B. Wells and a reminder that we all must continue to prick the collective consciousness of an industry that remains sluggish in achieving its diversity goals.”

Solomon will be honored on Thursday, January 16, 2014 at NABJ’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The Newseum in Washington, D. C. She will accept his honor along with NABJ’s 2014 Hall of Fame inductees: Herb Boyd, Ernest Dunbar (posthumous), Jay Harris, Moses Newson, Zelda "Jackie" Ormes (posthumous), Bernard Shaw, Lee Thornton (posthumous), and NABJ Founder Maureen Bunyan.

For ticket sales and additional information on the NABJ Hall of Fame, please click here or contact Veronique Dodson at 301-405-0248 or



An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization for journalists of color in the nation, and provides career development as well as educational and other support to its members worldwide. For more information, please visit


Community Search
Sign In


2/14/2020 » 2/15/2020
NABJ Presents: The Basics Bootcamp

3/13/2020 » 3/15/2020
2020 NABJ Region II Conference