Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: NABJ News

NABJ Announces the Participants for its 2013 Student Multimedia Project

Monday, June 3, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Tiane Johnson
Share |

WASHINGTON, D.C. (June 3, 2013)—The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce the student and professional members who will participate in the organization’s Student Multimedia Project during the 38th Annual Convention and Career Fair in Orlando, FL.

Annually, NABJ offers an expenses-paid fellowship to outstanding college students to cover its convention and local stories in the host city. This year’s program will take place July 29-August 2 at the Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center.

"The Student Multimedia Project offers our student members the opportunity to receive on-the-job training from our dedicated professional journalists,” said NABJ President Gregory Lee, Jr. "The program gives the students an opportunity to showcase their talents to the membership and help further their journalistic skills.”

The students produce both breaking news and long-form multimedia stories, which are featured in the convention’s daily newspaper, the NABJ Monitor, and on a daily newscast on NABJ-TV. The students are also responsible for coordinating the layout and updating the convention website, Additionally, the students promote special events, programming, and sponsor-related information on the organization’s social media platforms.

The Student Multimedia Project is a part of NABJ’s Student Education Enrichment and Development (SEED) Program, which provides student members with scholarships, internships and training opportunities.

"This program is the essence of NABJ’s history and shows the organization’s commitment to providing tools and resources to better equip our student members for the ever-changing media industry,” said SEED Chairman Demorris Lee. "The students in this program have a lot of potential to be award-winning journalists and savvy public relations professionals. We are proud to help them pursue their goals.”

2013 Students Participants:
Chidozie Acey, Florida A&M University
Donnalyn Anthony, Miami Dade College
Khorri Atkinson, York College, The City University of New York
Claudia Balthazar, Hofstra University
Natasha Benjamin, New York University
Adriana Bush, San Diego State University
Jerome Campbell, University of Southern California
Dominique Carson, Brooklyn College
Vonecia Carswell, University of Florida
Tisha Coleman, University of Mississippi
Monique Collins, Marquette University
Javier Edwards, University of Florida
Ariam Frezghim, Stony Brook University
Ashley Griffin, University of California, Berkeley
Adrianne Haney, Elon University
Raishad Hardnett, University of Southern California
Monica Herndon, University of Miami
Lauren Houston, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Roddrick Howell, North Carolina Central University
Sean Hurd, The George Washington University
Joshua Jamerson, Ohio University
Nicholas Johnson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Justin Madden, Grambling State University
Sylvia Obell, Columbia University
Faithful Okoye, University of Florida
Amber Roberts, Syracuse University
Madison Sanders, University of Southern California
Haniyyah Sharpe, Temple University
Alysee Shelton, Kentucky State University
Nickelle Smith, University of Florida
Christalyn Solomon, Hampton University
Farron Stark, Syracuse University
Rachel Stichnoth, University of South Carolina
Arlene Washington, University of Southern California

Team Leaders:

Sarah Hoye, CNN (Student Project Manager)
Denise James, Temple University/Denise James Media (Television)
Michelle Johnson, Boston University (Online)
Delano Massey, Lexington Herald-Leader (Print)
Ken McFarlin, The New York Times (Graphic Design)
Akili Ramsess, Orlando Sentinel (Photography)
Aprill Turner, Turner Communications, LLC (Public Relations)
Stacie Williams, Harvard University (Copy Desk)


Kimberly Alleyne, Association for Enterprise Opportunity
Jemal Brinson, Chicago Tribune
Daarel Burnette II, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Allison Davis, Jackie Robinson Foundation (NABJ Founder)
Michael Douglas, Independent Journalist
Jennifer Dronkers, The Poynter Institute
Michael Dutton, Executive Leadership Council
Kiratiana Freelon, Eunique Enterprises
Andale Gross, The Associated Press
Ken-Yon Hardy, Cox Media Group
Dawn Kelly, Prudential Financial, Inc.
Gerrick Kennedy, Los Angeles Times
Marshall Latimore, Alabama Media Group
Janell Lewis, WTVM-TV
Kimberly Mitchell, Detroit Free Press
Christopher Nelson, NBC
Monica Richardson, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Rashaun Rucker, Detroit Free Press
Ken Smith, WRAL-TV
Ingrid Sturgis, Howard University
Sherri Williams, Syracuse University
Marc Willis, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
Anthony Wilson, WTVD-TV
An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization for journalists of color in the nation, and provides career development as well as educational and other support to its members worldwide. For more information, please visit

Community Search
Sign In


2/14/2020 » 2/15/2020
NABJ Presents: The Basics Bootcamp

3/13/2020 » 3/15/2020
2020 NABJ Region II Conference

4/17/2020 » 4/18/2020
2020 NABJ Region I Conference