Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Archives

MMTC and NABJ Team Up for Broadband and Social Justice Summit and Hall of Fame Awards Induction and

Friday, December 21, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Aprill Turner
Share |


MMTC and NABJ Team Up for Broadband and Social Justice Summit and Hall of Fame Awards Induction and Ball, January 16th and 17th, 2013

WASHINGTON, DC, 12/21/2012-- REGISTER NOW for the Minority Media and Telecom Council’s (MMTC) Fourth Annual Broadband & Social Justice Policy Summit (#BBSJ2013), January 16-17, 2013 at the Westin Georgetown, Washington, DC, followed by the National Association of Black Journalists’ (NABJ) Hall of Fame Induction and Reception, January 17th, 6pm at the Newseum.

Ø  MMTC’s Broadband and Social Justice Summit, January 16-17, 2013

Registration is open to the public for MMTC’s BBSJ2013 Summit as the nation’s most noted leaders on broadband, telecom and social justice policy convene to discuss "Creating Economic Opportunity Through Digital Equality.” 

NABJ members are encouraged to register as press, bloggers, or general registrants ($100) at the BBSJ Registration Page or by contacting Jewel Love at or Maurita Coley at, or calling 202.973.4314.  MMTC’s BBSJ attendees are encouraged to purchase discounted tickets to the NABJ Hall of Fame Induction Reception and Ball at the discounted NABJ Member rate of $150 (up to 75 tickets are available at this rate). Register for the NABJ Induction and Reception at

The BBSJ 2013 Summit features public, private, and nonprofit leaders, including:

Present and former FCC Commissioners and Members of Congress: Hon. Mignon Clyburn, Hon. Robert McDowell, Hon. Ajit Pai, Hon. Michael Copps, Hon. Reed Hundt, Hon. Deborah Taylor Tate, Cong. Cliff Stearns (R-FL), Cong. Ed Towns (D-NY), and Cong. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY), among others.

Private sector, government, and nonprofit leaders from: AT&T, Comcast, Sprint, Time Warner Cable, Verizon, T-Mobile, Information Technology Industry Council (ITI), American Telemedicine Association, ASPEN Institute, Georgetown University’s McDonough School of Business, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), U.S. Department of Commerce’s Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA), White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, U.S. Small Business Administration, National Association of Multi-ethnicity in Communications (NAMIC), National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters, NetCommunications, Ember Media, NOBEL Women, Ronson Network Services, Urban Cyberspace Company, and Politic365, among many others.

Discussion topics include:

  • Opportunities for entrepreneurs in a digital economy
  • Creative content distribution arrangements and opportunities in the mobile apps economy
  • The upcoming spectrum incentive auctions and infrastructure buildout as a catalyst to create jobs and spur economic growth
  • Innovative government and private sector initiatives to stimulate economic opportunity and bridge the wealth gap

BBSJ 2013 Summit highlights include the Congressional Luncheon, High Tech Policy Luncheon, and the Social Justice Reception, which features the Annual Social Justice Awards with special guests.

MMTC Registration and sponsorship details can be found on the BBSJ Registration Page.

Ø  NABJ’s Hall of Fame Induction and Reception, January 17, 2013, 6 pm at the Newseum

On Thursday, January 17, immediately following MMTC’s Broadband & Social Justice Summit, join National Association of Black Journalists’ 2013 Hall of Fame Induction Reception and Ball at the Newseum in Washington, DC.


Over the last 20 years, NABJ has inducted over 50 distinguished journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry into its Hall of Fame.


The 2013 NABJ Hall of Fame inductees and the Ida B. Wells Award Recipient are:

·         Betty Winston Bayé, Longtime Columnist, The Courier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.)

·         Simeon Booker, First Black Reporter, The Washington Post and Washington Bureau Chief, Jet Magazine

·         Alice Dunnigan, First Black Woman Credentialed to Cover The White House, The State Department, and Congress (posthumous)

·         Sue Simmons, Longtime Anchorwoman, WNBC-TV

·         Wendell Smith, Legendary Sportswriter, Helped Desegregate Baseball (posthumous)

·         Cynthia Tucker, Pulitzer-Winning Columnist, The Atlanta Journal Constitution

·         Richard Price, Columnist and champion of diversity in journalism, wins the Ida B. Wells Award

Important Links:

MMTC Broadband & Social Justice Policy Summit 2013
WHEN: January 16 – 17, 2013
WHERE: The Westin Georgetown Hotel | 2350 M Street Washington, DC 20036
TIME: Doors open at 8:00 AM January 16th and January 17th, 2013

BBSJ Blog -
MMTC Website -

NABJ Hall of Fame Induction and Reception 2013

WHEN:  January 17, 2013

WHERE: The Newseum |555 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, District of Columbia  20001

TIME:  Doors open at 6:00 PM January 17, 2013

NABJ Reception Registration -

NABJ Website -

Community Search
Sign In


Free Webinar: Peak Metrics: How Media Monitoring Software Can Help You Do Your Job Better

Free Webinar: Rules Review: A Refresher on Parliamentary Procedures & Bylaws

3/13/2020 » 3/15/2020
2020 NABJ Region II Conference

Free Webinar: Longform Magazine Writing 101