Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
NABJ Hall of Fame Induction & Reception
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

When: 1/27/2011
6:30 PM
Where: Newseum
555 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001

« Go to Upcoming Event List  


Join us Thursday, January 27th as the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) joins the national Newseum and its Freedom Forum’s Diversity Institute to celebrate 35 years of working to bring more diverse, fair and editorial independent newsrooms to our nation and the world.

Honoring the Past, Building the Future is the Newseum’s inaugural event honoring African American journalists. The evening will open with a reception, followed by NABJ’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony. 

Five legendary journalists who have helped us make sense of the world will be honored – Ed Bradley, Eugene Robinson, Merri Dee, JC Hayward, and Ray Taliaferro. Walterene Swanston will receive the Ida B. Wells Award. 

The program will also recognize the event’s Honorary Chairman John Seigenthaler, the Newseum’s Vice President for programs Jack Marsh and the introductory announcement of NABJ’s newest Fellowship awards. 

Reception: 6:30 p.m.

Program begins at 8:00 p.m.

Red Carpet Entrance begins at 6:45 p.m.

Tickets on sale now! ($150, non-refundable) - SOLD OUT!!!

For corporate and individual giving opportunities,
contact NABJ Development Consultant, JoAnne Lyons Wooten,


 Ed Bradley – George Foster Peabody and Emmy award winning journalist best known for his 26 year run on the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes. (Posthumous induction)

 Merri Dee – 30 year veteran of Chicago broadcasting and former evening anchor for Chicago’s WGN-TV. 

JC Hayward – One of Washington DC’s most respected broadcasters whose Emmy award winning career has included more than 36 years as an anchor and reporter at WUSA Channel 9.

  Eugene Robinson – Pulitzer Prize winner who served as the Associate Editor and twice-weekly columnist for the Washington Post.

Ray Taliaferro – Veteran radio journalist who for almost 25 years has been getting people talking about contemporary American politics during the Early Show on San Francisco’s KGO NEWSTALK AM 810.

2011 Ida B. Wells Recipient

Walterene 'Walt' Swanston
 – Walt is diversity consultant and the retired director of diversity management for National Public Radio. She has a decades-long professional track record as a champion of media diversity.





Community Search
Sign In