Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Past Hall of Fame Honorees
Share |

Every year, NABJ pays homage to legendary black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry.

On April 5, 1990, seven distinguished journalists became charter members of the NABJ Hall of Fame. Over the last 23 years, NABJ has inducted 56 journalists into the esteemed Hall of Fame.


Gwen Ifill

Moderator and managing editor of "Washington Week" and senior correspondent for the "PBS NewsHour."  She is also the best-selling author of "The Breakthrough: Politics and Race in the Age of Obama."

Pat Harvey

A sixteen-time Emmy award-winning broadcast journalist who co-anchors CBS2s 5 and 11 pm broadcasts.

Ruth Allen Ollison

Started up the NBC affiliate news department in Tyler, TX. After two decades in the broadcasting industry, sought to transform the conditions in Houston, TX that she had covered for so long as a journalist.

Johnathan Rodgers

Former TV One President and CEO who under his leadership, the network, which serves nearly 53 million adults, has become recognized as the quality programming alternative for African-Americans.

Wallace Terry

An award-winning author, producer, public speaker and former deputy bureau chief for Time magazine. (Posthumous induction)


Ed Bradley
George Foster Peabody and Emmy award winning journalist best known for his 26 year run on the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes. (Posthumous induction)

Merri Dee
30 year veteran of Chicago broadcasting and former evening anchor for Chicago’s WGN-TV. 

JC Hayward
One of Washington DC’s most respected broadcasters whose Emmy award winning career has included more than 36 years as an anchor and reporter at WUSA Channel 9.

Eugene Robinson
Pulitzer Prize winner who served as the Associate Editor and twice-weekly columnist for the Washington Post.

Ray Taliaferro
Veteran radio journalist who's career spans almost 25 years for San Francisco’s "The Early Show" on KGO NEWSTALK AM 810.

 Earl Caldwell
Reporter and early Civil Rights Activist
(New York)
 Peggy Peterman (posthumous)
St. Petersburg Times (Florida); (posthumous)
 Lynn Norment
Editor, EBONY Magazine
 Larry Whiteside
Reporter, The Boston Globe (Boston), (posthumous)


 Charles E. Cobb, Jr.

Belva Davis
KQED-TV (San Francisco)

Vernon Jarrett
Chicago Tribune (posthumous)

Les Payne
Newsday columnist

Xernona Clayton-Brady Xernona Clayton-Brady
Trumpet Awards founder and broadcast pioneer
Merv Aubespin Merv Aubespin
Past NABJ President, 1983-1985
Artist, reporter and editor
The Courier-Journal
John L. Dotson, Jr. John L. Dotson, Jr.
Former president and publisher
Akron Beacon Journal
Co-founder, Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
Jim Vance Jim Vance


Lerone Bennett Jr.
Lerone Bennett Jr.
Executive Editor Emeritus
Ebony magazine

Al Fitzpatrick
Al Fitzpatrick
Former Executive Editor

William Raspberry
William Raspberry
The Washington Post


Charles "Teenie" Harris

Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Broadcast Journalist & Author

Max Robinson
Max Robinson
Founding NABJ Member
Former ABC News Anchor

Carole Simpson
Carole Simpson
Former ABC Anchor
World News Tonight Sunday


John H. Johnson
Publisher and Chairman
Johnson Publishing Co.

Robert Maynard
Institute for Journalism Education

Chuck Stone
Founding NABJ President


Seven distinguished journalists became charter members of the Hall of Fame on April 5, 1990, at a formal induction ceremony in Washington.

Dorothy Butler Gilliam
Dorothy Butler Gilliam
"magnetic presence" as a reporter, editor and columnist at The Washington Post.

Mal H. Goode
broke color barrier in network broadcast journalism as ABC News reporter in 1962.

Mal Johnson
a founding NABJ member, longtime correspondent for Cox Broadcasting Co.

Gordon Parks
renowned photojournalist at Life magazine, author, filmmaker.

Ted Poston
called "dean of black journalists" during New York Post career (1930's-1960's).

Norma Quarles
Norma Quarles
veteran network anchor and correspondent at NBC News, CNN and PBS.

Carl T. Rowan
renowned columnist once called nation's "most visible black journalist."


Accepting a strong recommendation from the NABJ Hall of Fame Screening Committee, the Board of Directors voted in April 2004 to induct 10 historical journalism figures as a one-time measure. The committee's rationale was that any legitimate Hall of Fame of black journalists must include these legendary figures and that 2004 revival of the Hall of Fame was the appropriate time to include them.

Robert S. Abbott
founded the Chicago Defender, which helped create the Great Migration to the North.

Samuel E. Cornish
co-publisher, Freedoms Journal, the nation's first black newspaper.


Frederick Douglass
a former slave and the nation's most prominent abolitionist and the publisher of the North Star.

W.E.B. DuBois
a NAACP founder and creator and first editor of its magazine, The Crisis.

T. Thomas Fortune
one of the most prominent black journalists in the post-Civil War era.

Ethel Payne
First Lady of the Black Press, D.C. correspondent for Sengstacke Newspapers.

Marcus Garvey
journalist for Africa Times and Orient Review, publisher of Negro World.

John B. Russwurm
co-publisher, Freedoms Journal, the nation's first black newspaper.

John Sengstacke
founder of Michigan Chronicle and publisher of Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.

Ida B. Wells-Barnett
newspaper editor, crusader against segregation and lynching in United States.

Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?


2015 NABJ Hall of Fame Nominations Due

3/13/2015 » 3/14/2015
2015 NABJ Region VI Conference

8/5/2015 » 8/9/2015
2015 NABJ Convention & Career Fair -- Minneapolis, MN


NABJ Journal
Summer 2014

NABJ 2012 Diversity
Broadcast Census