Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Standing Committees
According to NABJ's Operating Procedures, the duties of the following nine national standing committees shall be as follows:

Locating new member, reclaiming former members and retaining current members, and creating programs for this purpose. It also shall be responsible for evaluating all membership applications and affiliate chapter applications.

Chair: Charles Robinson, III, Maryland Public Television

Developing and implementing programs for the annual national convention.

Convention Chair: Rod Hicks, Associated Press
Program Chair: Deirdre Childress Hopkins, Pennsylvania Convention Chair

Developing and distributing criteria for various national journalism categories in the annual NABJ Salute to Excellence awards contest.

Chair: Ray Metoyer, WNEG-TV (Athens, Ga.)

Media Monitoring
Monitoring the national media for discrimination and other injustices to people in the African diaspora in their coverage and employment practices. It shall report to the Board of Directors and the membership issues of concern.


Eric Deggans, St Petersburg Times
Linda White, WVTM NBC 13 News

Constitution and Operating Procedures
Considering any proposed amendments to the Constitution and Operating Procedures suggested by any full member. The Committee shall make recommendations on such changes to the membership for consideration according to the guidelines established by the Constitution and Operating Procedures.

Chair: TBD

Provide financial advice to ensure the Board of Directors successfully meets its financial goals. The committee shall also be available to provide financial advice and counsel to the President, Treasurer and Board of Directors, review and advise the Board on the annual budget, review spending and income quarterly. It shall be comprised of the NABJ Treasurer, two former NABJ treasurers, two independent financial advisors and a top executive from a media company.

Chair: Greg Morrison, CNN

Council of Presidents
Foster effective chapter management, develop strategies for chapters to recruit and retain members, develop strategies to assist chapters in raising funds for scholarships and other award programs. It shall also aggressively recruit members to NABJ and work to reach a consensus and make recommendations on how mutual problems can be addressed and resolved within NABJ.


Dushesne Drew, Star Tribune
Marvin Hurst, KENS-TV


Oversee the election process and develop the rules that apply to it. The committee shall set candidate standards, rules, regulations and qualifications for nominations and regulations governing the process and arbitrate any disputes to that procedure. The Board of Directors will have the authority to supersede decisions of the Committee by a two-thirds vote of the Boards members.

Chair: Mike Woolfolk, WXYZ-TV


Actively develop, implement and execute a communications strategy for NABJ.

Chair: Kimberly N. Alleyne, Senior Director, Marketing and Communications, Association for Enterprise Opportunity


Actively pursuing new business partnerships and fundraising initiatives for NABJ

Chair: Lynn Norment, Carol H. Williams Advertising


Media Institute
The Media Institute offers professional development opportunities, technical training, historical documentation and educational programs.

Chair: Cindy George, Houston Chronicle

Other Committees
Other work may be done on behalf of NABJ and black journalists by other committees and task forces as deemed necessary by the President and Board of Directors. The President shall appoint all committees.

Student Education Enrichment & Development Programs (SEED)
The SEED program provides valuable benefits for student members by placing student interns at media companies nationwide; providing over 12 scholarships annually, and coordinating the NABJ Convention student projects.

Chair: Delano Massey, Lexington Herald-Leader
High School Program: Russell LaCour, Tulsa World

NABJ Journal
Published online and twice a year in print, the NABJ Journal provides news and information about NABJ activities, its members, chapters and journalism organizations with similar goals. Distributed to NABJ Members and individual subscribers, the journal explores industry-related issue, trends and lifestyles as they affect African-Americans while examining the media's triumphs and deficiencies, spotlighting outstanding achievements of journalists so that others may learn and emulate.

Managing Editor (Print) : Bonnie Newman Davis, Virginia Commonwealth University
Managing Editor (Online): Marlon A. Walker, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Special Honors
NABJ Special Honors represent the highest awards NABJ can bestow upon a member. NABJ members, affiliate chapters and others nominate those who represent the best among black journalists. Awards include Lifetime Achievement, Legacy Award, Journalist of the Year and Emerging Journalist of the Year.

Chair: Leisa Richardson, Indianapolis Star Tribune

Hall of Fame
Legendary black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to journalism are inducted yearly.

Chairs: Maureen Bunyan, WJLA-TV (Washington), NABJ Founder

Print Advocacy
Upon the direction of the Vice-President Print, this committee completes an annual census of managers in print newsrooms.

Chair: Errin Whack, (Washington, DC)

Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?


8/5/2015 » 8/9/2015
2015 NABJ Convention & Career Fair -- Minneapolis, MN


NABJ Journal
Summer 2014

NABJ 2012 Diversity
Broadcast Census